Driving while your driver’s license is suspended license is a criminal charge in Illinois. The police can be aggressive in tracking down and prosecuting this charge, and you could face jail time, as well as much longer license suspension periods.
Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License in Illinois
At a minimum, a charge of driving while your license is under suspension is a Class A Misdemeanor, which can carry a penalties up up to 1 year in jail, and fines of up to $2500.
You can be charged with a more serious felony depending on the facts of your case, and the underlying reason for your license suspension.
Your Illinois driver’s license can be suspended due to:
- DUI (criminal conviction or breath test failure or refusal to submit)
- Failure to Appear in Court
- Lapsed Auto Insurance
- Too Many Moving Violations
- Unpaid Traffic or Parking Tickets
- Other Illinois court or Driver Services related administrative suspensions
Driver’s License Reinstatement Hearings
Our attorneys can represent you in a license reinstatement hearing. We can help you argue that your suspension was unfairly issued, and help you clear or correct whatever conditions lead to your suspension.
Please contact us for a consultation on your suspended license problem in Illinois.