Robbery offenses are considered violent felonies under Illinois law. If you are convicted of a crime like this, there is a good chance you will be going to prison. And if that isn’t enough to scare you, the possibility of carrying around the label of a convicted felon for the rest of your life might.
Fortunately, not all robbery charges end in a conviction. As a matter of fact, very few do. But as with everything, it pays to be prepared. By working with a local defense attorney you can fight for the best results possible on your case.
Illinois Robbery Laws and Penalties
The laws surrounding robbery in the state of Illinois are complex. This is a general overview, though the best way to know for certain what you are up against is by consulting with one of our criminal defense lawyers.
Generally, robbery is defined as taking property from the person or presence of another with the use of force or by threatening the imminent use of force.
In most cases, robbery is classified as a Class 2 Felony. This crime carries a potential 3 to 7 years in prison and fines reaching $25,000.
However, if the victim of the robbery was over the age of 60 or was handicapped, or if the robbery took place in a day care, care home, or place of worship, it will be classified as a Class 1 Felony charge, which carries 4 to 15 years in prison and $25,000 in fines.
Aggravated robbery is a more serious charge than general robbery. This is defined as committing robbery while indicating to the alleged victim that you are presently armed with a dangerous weapon or by delivering to them a controlled substance without their consent. This could refer to injecting someone or making them inhale a substance.
Aggravated robbery is a Class 1 Felony charge and carries 4 to 15 years in prison and $25,000 in fines.
Armed robbery is defined as committing robbery when you are carrying or discharge a firearm. Depending on the facts of the case, this offense is usually charged as a Class X felony. Being found guilty of this offense will add years to your potential robbery sentence. Depending on whether you just carried a weapon or if you discharged it, you could face an additional 15 years on your sentence, or up to life in prison.
Vehicular Hijacking/ Carjacking
Carjacking is like robbery, where the property you are accused of taking is a vehicle. This offense is a Class 1 Felony charge which carries 4 to 15 years in prison and $25,000 in fines.
Aggravated Vehicular Hijacking/ Carjacking
If you commit carjacking and the alleged victim is over 60, you are armed, or you discharge a firearm, you will face charges of a Class X Felony. The penalty you face for this charge depends on the facts of the case. However, you could face a mandatory minimum sentence and up to life in prison.
Robbery charges are very serious. If you are accused of any of the above offenses, contact us today to discuss your case and how we might be able to help.