A criminal hit and run accusation is a serious and frightening experience. If you were arrested or received a citation/summons to appear in criminal court on a hit and run charge, I know you are concerned about what could happen.
According to Illinois Driving laws, a person who is involved in a motor vehicle accident where people are injured or property is damaged is required to stop at the scene and exchange information and help when necessary.
When a driver of a vehicle in an accident leaves the scene when someone was injured, he or she can be charged with the crime Felony Hit and Run under Illinois criminal law.
A Misdemeanor Hit and Run is when the driver of a vehicle in an accident leaves the scene when there was only damage to property.
I have a Hit and Run charge, what should I do now?
Our attorneys are very experienced at helping people like you work through the court system and defend charges like this. We can talk with you to figure out what your intentions were on the day of the accident. Maybe you were only trying to move the vehicle out of danger and the police thought you were trying to leave the scene. Perhaps you were very shocked about the accident that had just occurred and you weren’t thinking clearly. That is understandable, as any accident is a stressful and shocking event, and bad decisions can result from all that adrenaline flowing.
There are also many situations where people are accused of hit and run that they had nothing to do with and is not their fault. Witnesses make mistakes, and can get the wrong license plate. Or it could have been your car, but you weren’t driving it.
These situations can take some wrangling to fix, but you’re going to need a lawyer to wade through it all with you, and make sure you get a fair hearing in court.
There are many ways we can help, no matter what the situation was, but it’s important to analyze your case individually. You can call for a free consultation to speak with one of our expert attorneys and get the legal advice and confidence to proceed with your charge.
Penalties for a Hit and Run Charge in Illinois
Hit and run is a very serious crime. A conviction can lead to suspension or revocation of your right to drive which can affect your future significantly. A conviction is also on your criminal record and can hinder your ability to find a job or a place to live.
Misdemeanor hit and run
Hit and Run with serious damaged property is a Class 4 Felony which carries a possible sentence of up to 3 years in a state penitentiary and/or a fine of up to $25,000.
Hit and Run of an injured person is a Class 2 Felony which carries a possible sentence of up to 7 years in a state penitentiary and/or a fine of up to $25,000.
If the accident causes the death of a person, Hit and Run becomes a Class 1 Felony which carries a possible sentence of up to 15 years in a state penitentiary and/or a fine of up to $25,000.
There are many other circumstances that may affect your individual charge. It’s important to speak with one of our attorneys quickly so we can begin helping you figure out how the law applies to your specific case.
Free Consultation on Any Illinois Hit & Run
Contact us for a case evaluation and legal consultation on the charges you face. We can discuss your situation, and what the options are to defend your case in court.