Here are a few answers to common questions about Illinois DUI laws, particularly about the new laws concerning the ignition interlock device requirement, that goes into effect on Jan 1, 2009.
What is the Penalty for Someone Convicted of a First Offense DUI Under this New Law?
- The period of license suspension will typically double. For failing a breath test, your license suspension period will be increased from 3 to 6 months. If you refused to take a breathalyzer/breath test, your license suspension increases from 6 months to 1 year.
- The current law, which allows judicial driving permits for limited driving privileges during a period of suspension will be eliminated.
- Replacing the judicial driving permit will be the Monitoring Device Driving Permit, a restricted Illinois driver’s license that limits the driver to only operate a car or vehicle with a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device, or BAIID, installed.
- The cost of installing and required regular operational maintenance on an ignition interlock device will be $500 – $1500 depending on the suspension length. Installation will cost $70-$100 dollars, and required monthly maintenance and monitoring will be about $110/month.
- Driving a car without a BAIID while on a MDDP license will result in a Class 4 Felony charge.