DUI defense is one of the most complicated and technical areas of criminal defense in Illinois. If you are charged with drunk driving / DUI, your license, your livelihood, and your future are at stake. You need the best Illinois DUI defense lawyers you can find to help your keep your license and your freedom.
Please contact us for a free criminal defense consultation on any DUI arrest in Illinois.
Illinois DUI / DWI Laws and Penalties
The minimum sentence for a DUI charge under Illinois law is a Class A Misdemeanor. It can result in penalties of:
- up to 364 days in jail
- fines up to $2500
- Loss of driver’s license for a minimum of 3 months
- Required alcohol abuse treatment programs
- significant increases in your auto insurance rates
- A Permanent criminal record that cannot be expunged. Your conviction will literally follow you around for the rest of your life, show up on any background check, and even possible google searches in the future.
- You may be ineligible for international travel / entry into Canada
And starting in January 2009, any DUI conviction will result in a mandatory breath alcohol ignition interlock device being required to go in your car, for 1 year. The BAIID requirement will kick in when you are eligible to have your driver’s license reinstated after the initial suspension period (typically 3 months for a 1st offense DUI conviction).
For these reasons and more, it often makes sense to fight DUI charges whenever possible. The downside of taking a DUI to trial may not be that great when you consider all that you are agreeing to if you plead guilty.
Please contact us for a DUI defense consultation on any Illinois Drunk Driving Charge.