If you are accused of arson, you probably know that you are facing a serious criminal charge with a real risk of jail time and significant criminal penalties.
You need top legal advice right away to evaluation your defense options, and make sure your rights are protected in the criminal courts of Illinois. You can bet that the courts, judges, and prosecution will not be looking to cut you any breaks with a charge this serious.
Fighting for people accused of criminal offenses is what we do. As Illinois criminal defense attorneys, we help people in tough situations every day. We don’t judge. We advocate, and we fight to get you the best possible outcome in court.
Please contact us right away for a free criminal defense consultation. The sooner we can get on the case, the more we can do to help.
Illinois Laws: Arson, Residential Arson, and Aggravated Arson
According to Illinois law, Arson is destroying someone else’s property with a value of $150 or more by setting fire to it without the permission from the owner. Even if you own part of the property, it is still considered arson if someone else shares the ownership and you do not have that person’s permission to destroy it by intentionally setting fire to it.
A person commits Residential Arson when they damage a residential building through an act of Arson.
It is considered Aggravated Arson when a person sets fire to the building of another person without their permission when the person setting the fire knows that there are people inside or by setting the fire the person causes bodily harm or disability to someone else. Additionally, if firefighter or policeman gets hurt because of the fire it becomes Aggravated Arson.
(See Illinois Arson laws 720 ILCS sec. 20)
Can I Fight and Win an Arson Charge?
Yes, there are always defenses. But whatever the situation, you need someone to help you evaluate your options, and make sure you are given a fair hearing in court.
If you are being charged with Arson it is very important that you sit down and speak with a lawyer about your case. If you call us we can set up a free consultation to discuss your case in detail.
It could be a case of mistaken identity, and you may be completely innocent of these charges.
Or you may have made a terrible mistake that you are deeply sorry about. Maybe you started a fire on accident and it got out of control. Or perhaps you weren’t thinking clearly and set someone else’s property on fire because you were angry. No matter what the details of your case entail there are always ways to defend you.
The steps you take right now to deal with your charges are very important to the outcome of your case and, consequently, to your future. The sooner you call us to set up a free consultation, the sooner we can help you.
Illinois Arson Penalties
What could happen to me with an Arson conviction?
An Arson conviction is a Class 2 Felony which carries a possible sentence of up to 7 years in a state penitentiary and/or a fine of up to $25,000.
A Residential Arson Conviction is a Class 1 Felony which carries a possible sentence of up to 15 years in a state penitentiary and/or a fine of up to $25,000.
An Aggravated Arson conviction is a Class X Felony which carries a possible sentence of up to 30 years in a state penitentiary and/or a fine of up to $25,000.
Get a Free Criminal Consultation on Illinois Arson Charges
Please contact our attorneys right away to get a free case evaluation. You don’t have a moment to lose. The sooner we can act, the more we can do in your defense.
There is no obligation or cost for an initial consultation on Illinois criminal offenses, so call today.