Starting on January 1, 2009, any driver convicted of a DUI / drunk driving charge, even a first offense, will be required to have a (BAIID) breath alcohol igntion interlock device in any vehicle he or she drivers.
Stats from recent IL news articles and also here that discuss this law include interesting facts, such as:
- The devices are calibrated to not start at a .025% BAC, which is the level of about 1 drink for an average sized person. (The legal limit for BAC in Illinois is .08%, so it is well below “intoxication” levels).
- Costs for the device will be about $1000. Presumably, that is over a year, including installation and monthly maintenance fees (including regular downloads of logged data on every use).
- It is estimated that 50,000 Illinois drivers will get one of these devices in 2009, if drunk driving conviction numbers are consistent. That is a huge number.(
- Driving vehicle without an interlock if your license requires it will result in a separate criminal charge (a Class 4 Felony) and a mandatory minimum 30 days in jail.
More info: Here is an official press release on the new Illinois BAIID laws.