Harassment and Stalking are complicated and emotional charges to be facing. You are very likely going through a difficult time in your personal life, and now you are faced with a serious criminal charge.
Our attorneys have defended criminal charges like stalking and harassment in Illinois courts, so we know what to expect, and what it takes to successfully defend you against these charges.
The details get complicated fast, so please contact us for a free legal defense evaluation as soon as possible. The consultation is free, and we can suggest some defense strategies we might use to get your charges reduced or dismissed.
Illinois Harassment Laws
According to Illinois criminal law, Harassment is making an obscene or indecent comment or request with the intent to offend, threaten, or annoy someone.
Harassment doesn’t only occur face-to-face but can also occur over the phone or internet. In some cases you don’t even have to say anything to harass someone. For example, calling a person repeatedly to annoy them even if you don’t talk is also considered harassment.
(Ref: Illinois Harassing and Obscene Communications Act)
How can you help me with my Harassment charge?
We understand that harassment is not always straightforward. Perhaps you were making a joke and your co-worker took it wrong. Or maybe you were fighting with a significant other and things got a little out of hand. Every situation is different and you won’t know what’s best for you or what can be done about your specific situation until you speak with a legal professional who understands you and takes the time to thoroughly review your case.
Get the individual attention your case deserves by calling us for a free consultation. We will sit down with you so we can go over your case and prepare the best defense possible.
Harassment Penalties in Illinois
What could happen to me if I am convicted of Harassment? You are facing:
A first offense harassment conviction is a Class B Misdemeanor and carries a possible sentence of up to 6 months in jail and/or a fine of up to $2,500.
If you have already been convicted of harassment and are convicted again, the second is a Class A Misdemeanor which carries a possible sentence of up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500.
There are also certain circumstances where a harassment conviction can be a Class 4 Felony which is why it is very important to sit down with one of our attorneys to review your individual case.
Illinois Stalking Laws
What does the law say about Stalking?
According to Illinois criminal law, Stalking is when you follow someone or place them under surveillance at least twice while you threaten to harm, sexually assault, or confine that person or cause them to be scared that you will do one of those things to them or someone in their family. If you already have conviction for stalking, following someone just once is grounds to bring a new stalking charge against you.
If you are asked not to follow someone but continue to do so, Illinois criminal law says that that person can reasonably feel threatened by you. Also, you can be charged with stalking someone if you remain outside of that person’s home for more than 10 minutes at one time or for more than 30 minutes total in a 24-hour period at least five times.
Aggravated Stalking is when, in addition to the above, a person harms or tries to restrain the person they are following or when stalking the person is a violation of a restraining order.
(Ref: Illinois Stalking laws 720 ILCS sec.12-7.3)
What should I do if I have a Stalking charge?
If you are accused of stalking someone it is in your best interest to seek professional help immediately. A stalking conviction will appear on your criminal record and may hinder your ability to find a job or housing. Our attorneys have seen and beaten many cases that are similar to yours. Let us sit down with you during a free consultation to review your individual case and discuss your options. We are always on your side and will help you get the best possible outcome for your case.
Illinois Stalking Offense - Penalties
Stalking is a Class 4 Felony which carries a possible sentence of up to 3 years in a state penitentiary and/or a fine of up to $25,000.
If you already have a stalking conviction and you receive another one, the second stalking conviction is a Class 3 Felony which carries a possible sentence of up to 5 years in a state penitentiary and/or a fine of up to $25,000.
Aggravated Stalking is a Class 3 Felony which carries possible sentence of up to 5 years in a state penitentiary and/or a fine of up to $25,000.
Every stalking charge has different facts and circumstances. The sooner you contact us to set up your free consultation the sooner you can feel relief that your case is being given the attention that it deserves.
If you are facing a serious criminal charge like stalking or harassment, you need someone on your side to help you try to fix this legal problem. Contact us for a free consultation to find out if we are the attorneys for you.