Disorderly conduct is a criminal charge under Illinois law that can be widely applied when you’ve done something to annoy a police officer. The statute says “an act in such unreasonable manner as to alarm or disturb another, a to provoke a breach of the peace”.
There are other more specific elements to a disorderly conduct charge, that include false reports to public safety agencies, interfering with lawful business or public service and safety agents, and other behavior.
When you are charged with a crime that is purely subjective, it makes sense to fight the charges in court, and work to get you case dismissed. If all you really did was irritate or talk back to the police in a heated moment, you should not be stuck with a permanent criminal record. Please contact us to find out how we can help you fight disorderly conduct offenses in Illinois criminal courts.
Illinois Disorderly Conduct – Penalties
Most typical disorderly conduct charges are categorized as a Class C Misdemeanor, which has maximum penalties of up to 30 days in jail and a $1500 fine.
However, some can be more serious misdemeanors of felony charges, particularly if the charges involve disrupting public safety functions, or if you have previous convictions for disorderly conduct.
If you are charged with disorderly conduct by looking inside someone’s home or property (aka peeping tom charges), you are facing a Class A Misdemeanor, which has a maximum of 1 year in jail and a $2500 fine.
The laws can be complicated to figure out on your own. Please call us for a consultation to find out how we can defend you and help you get a disorderly conduct charge in Michigan dismissed, and keep your record clean.
See: Disorderly Conduct 720 ILCS 5/26-1