Lake County Sherriff’s Deputies made some serious work for themselves and got several unlicensed drivers off the road when they targeted people walking out of court. According to the Lake County News-Sun, of 38 people who attended court dates, 8 decided to drive themselves home after having their licenses suspended. Yes, really.
Driving while your license is under suspension is a very bad idea, and is a criminal legal charge in Illinois. Of all places to drive when you have a suspended license (none of them being good), why would you choose to drive directly from the courthouse? That’s the kind of thing that law enforcement is likely to notice.
I’m honestly surprised the Sherriff’s Department took so long to try a sting like this. Perhaps they thought people knew better but I bet this isn’t a rare occurrence at most court houses across the state and the country.
Having a suspended license is an inconvenience. But, when you get caught repeatedly for disregarding the order of the court, that inconvenience gets bigger and bigger. While you may have had to deal with a 6 month suspension, a second or greater offense can bring much harsher penalties, longer suspensions, and jail time.
The sentence that people face in Illinois for Driving on a Suspended License depends on why their license was originally suspended. It can range from a petty traffic offense to a Class A misdemeanor carrying up to 1 year in jail.
While driving is convenient and old habits die hard, the people who were busted outside of the Lake County courthouse will hopefully take their next suspension a bit more seriously. In the meantime a few of them may be spending a few nights in jail or calling mom for a ride home.